Logo

Honda BF75D Overheating at full throttle only

Ming15237

New member here and am asking for advice on a friends boat. This boat has been in fresh water only. The engine as stated runs fine at all lower rpm's, but as soon as you give it full throttle it sets off the temp alarm and reduces rpm's. The thermostats have been replaced, the impeller replaced, and the oil is was changed. I have read about a a pressure relief valve being a possible issue, I don't know where this valve is located. I am an auto tech by trade so not afraid to do some digging in the motor to check it. I did get the DRHonda software to check the temps and as soon as temp sensors #'s 2 and 3 reach 175 F degrees the alarm sounds and engine reduces rpms and shuts off within 30 seconds. There is plenty of water coming out of all the pee holes, and there are no blockages on the intake grates. I also flushed the engine and no debris came out. Via the software the engine appears to have just under 1000 hours on it. Any Ideas?

Last edited: