Logo

Mercuiser 4.3 popping, hesistation and cuts after 45 mins

cuan

Hey Everyone,

Disclaimer: I'm a complete boating/engine newbie! however have a inquisitive mind and passion for technology!

I bought a wonderful boat with a 1997 Mercruiser 4.3LH/LHX 443LC00JT Engine. I get this strange issue where after 40-45 minutes I hear popping coming from the engine (Backfire?), then starts to give hesitation and will cut out under load. If I leave it for ~10-15 mins it will start again and get me back to the slip.

The last thing a mechanic changed was a new oil pressure sender switch. We ruled out a pump / oil pressure switch by bypassing it using a small wire.
I have posted this problem originally on another forum and feedback is it could be moisture in the distribution cap or possibly a coil issue.

Would anyone have any other insights or have experienced something like this before? Since I'm starting out on this venture I'm trying to gather as much help as I can. Would like to try fix this myself but without experience its difficult to diagnose and will probably end up purchasing parts I don't need..

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks Everyone :D

The engine was completely reconditioned by the previous owner.

• Fully reconditioned engine with New exhaust manifoulds all work completed 2017
  • Alpha one gen 2 drive. new gearbox, propeller, impeller kit, gimble bearing, drive & exhaust boots & control cable kit, new gauges fitted all work completed 2018.
  • fully serviced 2018.
  • New starter motor/battery/battery switch fitted 2019.
  • fully serviced 2019.

Thanks Chris, Never thought of that.. We ruled out vapor lock as we kept the engine going for 45 mins without stopping... I fill the tank each time before we go out so it could also be something to do with the tank.. :D

Any more suggestions?

Probably not the coil. Not a bad idea to replace dist cap/rotor.

Sounds like its going lean/staving for fuel after running for awhile.