Logo

Advice directions needed to remove carburator 2004 bigfoot mercury 25hp 4 stroke

CapnAhab

I'm a real beginner when it comes to doing things on motors. Sometimes I've fixed things though when I had a good video showing what to do. I bought a rebuilt carb for this motor and would like to try to put it in. Really fed up with the local dealer who has a monopoly on boat motor repair around here. Attached pics of carb side of my motor and engine #. I don't know that I can figure out a technical manual. Could anyone tell me how to do it or direct me to a step by step? Thanks!

Attachments

• merc 25hp 2cyl 4stroke 2004 bigfoot side.jpg
    merc 25hp 2cyl 4stroke 2004 bigfoot side.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 92
  • engine number merc25 4 stroke 2004.jpg
    engine number merc25 4 stroke 2004.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 39
In this forum. Goto top of page. Click on engine diagrams mercury / mariner. Type in your model number OT991996. Goto the intake diagram you will see that your carb is held on by 2 bolts starting at the airbox.

In this forum. Goto top of page. Click on engine diagrams mercury / mariner. Type in your model number OT991996. Goto the intake diagram you will see that your carb is held on by 2 bolts starting at the airbox.

Appreciate that. I didn't know how to get to that diagram. It's good to have if I run into someone more experienced than me. But it's still a ways over my experience level. I still hope someone with this exact motor might show a video or give pix of taking the carb off for people on my level. Thanks

OK. An old timer who lives nearby says he'll give directions as I do the work. He said I'll likely need a new gasket between the carb and main part since the old one will like get destroyed when I take the carb off? I'm looking at the carb that I found from the engine # but don't see the gasket(s) I think I need. I'm attaching the rebuilt that I have now.Thanksrebuilt carb side 1.jpgrebuilt carb side 2.jpg