Logo

Oil change issue, Merc 4.3L

vnk

Hello,
Last fall I got a 1999 Capri 1850 with 4.3L Merc.

Trying to change engine oil and got an issue. Before changing the oil I saw the level on the dipstick is above full. ok, I pumped out the oil (warm engine), Waited some time to let the rest oil get down. Few more moments with pump. Great, empty. Strange, overall I pumped out like 2-2.5L of oil??? Changed the filter. added fresh oil, approx 2L, checking dipstick - above level. WTF??? waited, check again - too much. Pumping out "fresh" oil. Coming out like 2L of oil. Oil is dirty. Not as the old one, but not as clear as I would expect. inserting dipstick no oil inside. poor back in the same 2-2.5L - over the level. Found spec for the dipstick - length is correct.

Does someone have an idea of what is happening? I am not a mechanic, but stuff like oil change and other basic services for my previous bot, cars etc I've been doing all my life.

Thank you

If my conversion is correct,

2 liters Equals ~ 2.11 Quarts.

A typical V6 holds ~ 4.5 quarts with filter = ~4.3 liters with filter

It sounds to me that you are not getting all the oil out correctly.

What method are you using

If my conversion is correct,

2 liters Equals ~ 2.11 Quarts.

A typical V6 holds ~ 4.5 quarts with filter = ~4.3 liters with filter

It sounds to me that you are not getting all the oil out correctly.

What method are you using
Electrical pump. I can assume pump is not good, but there is nothing at the bottom of the stick or the nylon tube I use to pump out oil. the very bottom tip of the tube is getting dirty in oil, there is no oil in the dipstick pipe.

The dip stick has a garden hos thereded fitting on it.
It is designed for a hand pump.

Maybe purchase a hand pump and see if you can get any more oil out.

The dip stick TUBE is ~ 1/4 inch off the bottom of the oil pan. It gets 99% of the oil out that way.