Logo

1987 Yamaha 115ETLH - Bogging down issue

Hofty

Hey folks,

Recently picked up this boat second hand and have been running into issues with motor. The motor runs fine and idles great however when I have the boat in the water and apply throttle With engine revving up and beyond 2200RPM (under load) it basically bogs down totally and dies unless I retard the throttle. So far I have checked the fuel system and there are no obstructions and it’s pressure tight. The fuel primer bulb flows correctly etc.

Im a newbie and fiddles with the ignition timing stopper (turned it counter clockwise to loosen it up thinking I controlled the idle speed, realized afterwards where that screw was). So yeah now it bogs down under load. My question is. By setting the ignition timing stopper back to its original position will that allow me to have correct timing advancement and therefore power under load or is it perhaps the doom of clogged carbs starving the motor of fuel?

Attachments

• 3E6CFBB9-5F58-4E2C-92D5-BE63C4A042D5.jpg
    3E6CFBB9-5F58-4E2C-92D5-BE63C4A042D5.jpg
    103.8 KB · Views: 46
Last edited:
The idle speed stopper and the upper screw ( maximum ignition advance ) have nothing to do with the bogging.-----Post results of a compression test.-------Clean the carburetors------If motor sat for any length of time with fuel in carburetors , the jets may be clogged.-----Check oil injection system too.

Go to yamahapubs.com and buy the service manual for it. It will tell you how to properly adjust the throttle linkage and timing. But if it was bogging down before you touched any screws, I would say your issue is not related to timing. More than likely, it's related to carbs, the fuel pump or the oil pump.

It looks pretty clean for an '87 though.