Logo

Bf90 with water in the oil ...

Kmcclain

So I need some help here, I bought a boat from a gentleman that has an issue with water in the oil. I've been an auto mechanic , although my knowledge stops in the early 2000s( haven't worked in the trade since then).the engine is a 2001 bf90. When I brought it home, I changed the oil and filter, ran the engine in a tank for about 30 minutes. Fresh oil was tan like grandpas coffee! Compression check showed 150 in all cylinders. I talked to a few of my buddies that work at different marine shops, and asked them what they thought. One said he had only seen one engine in the shop that had this issue and they couldn't find the problem. The other said they have had several in , and , a few years back they received a bulletin that said Honda wanted them to start using a gasket maker on the power head gasket (between power head and mid section) . So I ordered a gasket set, tore down the engine to a short block. I left it apart for several days. Kept going back to it and inspecting everything. I ran the head down to my local machine shop, can't find any issue with the head. I took a straight edge to he head, block, mid section , and oil pan. I couldnt seen any issues. I reassembled the engine with new oil pan gasket, power head gasket, head gasket ,ect. I ran the engine last night with fresh oil, again about 30 minutes. It appeared to have a very very little amount of water so I thought I fixed it. I figured just residual water from before. I pulled the oil plug today to drain the oil and replace with fresh oil, and low and behold , grandpas coffee again! I'm at loss here . If anybody has any ideas , I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks, Kevin