Logo

AQ131A Water gushing from exhaust pipe

thecaptain

Hi All,

Im new to boats having been messing with an old Bayliner Capri for the last 6 months (UK). I started this boat up last summer after buying it and it ran ok, no evident issues. Since then I have rebuilt the Carb and today as we are now coming out of the winter (boat has been covered but outside in the winter, not a particularly cold one) I decided to try and start it up.

The only other difference with last year is that the leg is not able to drop fully down off its trailer support, I have lifted the leg off the trailer support bracket and lowered it down onto a block of wood which means its down but not fully down if you know what i mean....

Another issue with the mechanical lift means I cant bring the leg position up electrically. Anyway thats the scene set.

When I start it up water gushes out of the exhaust pipe underneath and to the front where there appears to be some kind of outlet or something...

This didnt happen last time I started it up however it was in a bucket of water last time and not on muffs like today.

anyway video is attached, any help is appreciated.

Ayuh,...... Did you Drain all the water out of it over winter,..??

The water appears to be comin' outa a core plug,.... could be dislodged, or rusted through,.....

Ayuh,...... Did you Drain all the water out of it over winter,..??

The water appears to be comin' outa a core plug,.... could be dislodged, or rusted through,.....

Thanks for the response, no didnt drain it....... I prepare myself to be bashed for knowing nothing about boats! Will no doubt be on this forum a LOT.

:)

doing some vids of my journey if you fancy a laugh to follow.... will figure out what size plugs I need, get some new ones fitted and see if ive done any other damage. Better check the oil too :-/

Given we have had a very mild winter im hoping to get away with it.....

https://youtu.be/JYMWTOVW6ok