Logo

1965 18hp evinrude cant get running

Housey81

Hello boat gods ..

Background story , motor sitting for near 40 years,
18hp evinrude fastwin 1965 (ran the numbers)
Changed gear oil , compression is decent (cant hold fingers on the plug holes test)

New fuel line
New fuel pump
New Carb kit ( set pin all the way in 1.5 turns out )
New plugs

We can get it to fire but wont stay running long at all , 10seconds tops ..

We arent boat guys at all, looking for a little advice on getting this old gem running again .. any help is very much appreciated..
I'm new to this form stuff so bare with me

Thankyou in advanced ..

In all probability, you failed to manually clean the brass fixed high speed jet that's located in the center bottom portion of the float chamber, way behind the drain screw.

Carefully clean it with a piece of single strand steel wire as solvent just doesn't do that job properly. Fuel must flow thru that jet before it has access to any other fuel passageway.

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)

Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.

Start engine and set the rpms to where it just stays running. In segments of 1/8 turns, start to turn the S/S needle valve in. Wait a few seconds for the engine to respond. As you turn the valve in, the rpms will increase. Lower the rpms again to where the engine will just stay running.

Eventually you'll hit the point where the engine wants to die out or it will spit back (sounds like a mild backfire). At that point, back out the valve 1/4 turn. Within that 1/4 turn, you'll find the smoothest slow speed setting.

When you have finished the above adjustment, you will have no reason to move them again unless the carburetor fouls/gums up from sitting, in which case you would be required to remove, clean, and rebuild the carburetor anyway.