Logo

1994 48hp spl Evinrude chipped flywheel magnet.

Charlie86

Hello folks, my name is Charlie, and this is my first time posting here. I have this outboard that I have just replaced the charge coil and stator on. As I was attempting to reinstall the flywheel, I felt that it was maybe a little more “snug” then maybe it should be. This is my first time doing this. It did go all the way down, but when I torqued it down, the timing plate would rotate with the flywheel. I pulled the flywheel to see the problem, and noticed a small chip in one of the magnets on the flywheel. It’s just a small piece, no noticeable runners. My question is, can I epoxy or file down the small chip and still use it? Should I get a magnet kit? Will it affect charge/running? The magnet was pressed against the charge coil when I put the flywheel on, but I installed it correctly, and it’s a part from an Evinrude dealer. I’m wondering if I should have turned the timing plate so that when the magnets came down, they didn’t have that “hold” on the flywheel. Is it best to install the flywheel that way? It looks like all is hopefully well, I’m thinking maybe I can epoxy the chip and install the flywheel with moving the timing plate properly? I’ve done so much work on this thing, thanks everyone for whatever help you have.

Charlie... In installing the charge coil, or any component that the flywheel magnets fly by for that matter, unless you have the special ring tool that spaces the component properly from the magnets...... notice the aluminum portion of the plate that the coil sits upon.

You will see a ever so slight bevel there. The vertical metal portion of the coil must align with the inside portion of that bevel. If otherwise, there is a good possibility that the magnets will hit the coil which will of course result in damage.