Logo

twin 16v92 ddec rebuild costs and time?

renewgeorgia

I am buying a yacht with twin 16v92's. Non turbo I believe. I am getting from a bank after a default so I have not actually even started up the engines. I talked to some people at the dock who are familiar with the yacht as well as the boat broker, both say they were running fine last time they were started but... 4,000 hours on them both.

I intend to do a survey after purchase, but I can not before.

So is 4000 hours a lot?

I am guessing it is... would they most likely both need a rebuild?

And how much does that cost?

After a rebuild, are they like new or what should I expect?

What other items would need to be rebuilt at same time, transmissions of whatever the marine version of one is? What else and what costs?

Yes, I am new at yachts so please forgive my ignorance... I am getting what I think is a very good deal, just want some info on what to expect with 4,000 hours on engines, what most likely is worn out or will wear out soon... and the costs to repair.

Any help is appreciated, and thank you.

I don't know that engine very well, but the main question is likely to be what HP rating they are at. I have a 12V71 that did 30,000 commercial hours before needing a rebuild, but it is a non-turbo 14l engine that makes just over 300hp. Keep it cool, change the oil and you may never wear it out. Take the same engine with turbo and aftercooler to get 875hp and it might be done in less than 4000hrs. If the transmissions have been sized properly to the HP they should be good for a while yet (assuming proper maintenance).

I assume that the boat isn't very new given the engine style so don't forget that there is a lot more to a boat than it's engines.