Logo

Help please with model # and starting issues

Mikeb24

Morning Guys, thanks in advance for any help. I have a Evinrude 9.9 it appears the model number appears to be E10ELERD. I was running down the lake the other day and sideswiped a stump, motor shut down and has not restarted since. I'm not a great mechanic but I usually can figure things out. I've checked and the gas is pumping to the carb. I replaced and gapped the plugs. I've confirmed a spark by grounding the plug to the motor. I've ground to a halt. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Hey thanks! I did pull the flywheel. The key is not flush with the shaft however it only is out a heavy 1/16" maybe? I can tap the top flush and the bottom of the key is out maybe a 1/8" or so< is the normal?

The key is there to position the flywheel for proper spark timing.-----The flywheel is driven by the locking tapers.----On some years the same key is used on 9.9 models and 300 hp models.

Last edited:
Thank you for the quick response, I’m actually standing here looking at it. Like I said previously that key appears to stick out maybe a 1/16 of a inch from the shaft. Do you think that is correct?

Yes it is a 94 model.-------The key only sticks out a wee bit and that is normal.----The key does NOT drive the flywheel.

sounds about right the key could have a slight crease in it throwing the timing way off. Pick the key out and replace it after you lap the shaft taper to the flywheel taper. Be sure and tighten the flywheel nut to spec before starting it up.

If the plate wiggles up and down it can throw the timing off as well it wouldnt to pull the plate and clean and grease it good with marine lithium grease.

OK, so I have reset the fly wheel to or three times. And it does start momentarily and then dies after a few seconds. I believe your diagnosis of the key being slightly worn might be correct. Where would I find a replacement any recommendations?