Logo

Wobbling pump

Soundside

Hi all, I'm a newb to this forum, so please be gentle.

I've converted a Mercruiser IO to "direct" pickup cooling, using typical inboard arrangement with crank-mounted pump and through-hull pickup. Finally got everything installed, ran motor for the first time and the pump wobbles a bit. I've seen these pumps on other engines and noted that they do tend to move a little, but I'm wondering how much is too much. There's enough slop in the bolt holes to allow the pump to be slightly misaligned. Is that designed in on purpose and taken into account in the setup, or do I need to do something to try and center the pump? If so, how would I go about this? I have video of the pump in operation but not sure if I can post video to this forum.
Thanks much.

There are three possible ways to Index this pump to the harmonic balancer and pulley.
Remove the pump and look for the two raised sections (in the pulley) that serve as alignment “dowels“.
Now look for the corresponding pump flange “bores” that receive the dowels.
Install the pump accordingly!

Ah, that would be the larger holes in the pump flange? Well, I have a couple flies in the ointment. First, my pulley doesn't seem to have the raised dowels you mentioned. Maybe this is because it is an automotive engine? This is an old boat and it's on its fourth motor, and it's not a marine engine. The other fly in the ointment is that I've got the pump mounted on a spacer. Due to the "depth" of the pulley, the hoses had zero clearance at the edge of the pulley, so I added a spacer. Again, I imagine this is because it's an automotive pulley, and is not the right depth for this kind of pump.
Other than finding the correct marine pulley, do I have any options?
Thanks for your help.

I have read a little bit on the interwebs that another option would be to use bushings on the bolts to center them in the pump holes. I guess that might be my most direct solution.