Logo

Intermittent slowness

burns.316

I am new to owning an outboard motor, but have a good level of mechanical experience. I am having trouble with a (new to me) Honda outboard. I have been reading bunches, and can't figure out my problem.

2006 Honda 8HP 4 stroke, bought on consignment from a dealer. Dealer checked the engine, compression is good, motor not used much. (It does look brand new)

Upon using the motor, it was fine, ran exactly as I expected. Brings the boat up out of the water, and probably achieves close to 15mph. New gas, which is only a week or so old.

Used the boat one day, and parked it in the water. It was fine on the short trip there. Next day, I went to take it fishing with my daughter, and the boat started fine, ran fine, but would not accelerate or rev up past about 1/4 throttle. Idle was a little less than ideal, but didn't really stall out unless it idled for a good amount of time. I thought maybe there was something clogging the cooling system, so I took the boat home and ran it in a tank of clean water. Checked the oil, it appears to be correct. Reading led me to believe maybe it was not getting adequate fuel. Next time out, the boat ran perfectly, all the way up to full throttle. Took the boat home. Filled the tank up again with new gas.

Trip prior to last, I disconnect the fuel line to see what happens when I run the boat dry while it is running fine. It goes fine to the very end and shuts down. I put it on the trailer with the trolling motor.