Logo

Journey 303.. Twin Chrysler 360's

Tifoez

After a few months of research, I've determined that even though our drives are older than we are, will cost 50-90% more to maintain, we plan to retain everything as close to the day she was first splashed, we call her "Journey 303" and she is our home..
When first posting on a forum, I never know if I should just get to the facts, or if the community prefers a longer post with some of the mystery and history involved.. Since I currently add this to the Chrysler thread, I'll stick mainly to our drives..

((editorial note: I started learning mechanics, and various trade skills around the age of 7.. I am completely confident on my automotive knowledge, however this is my first exposure to marine applications..))

I was able to determine that the engines may have been replaced due to the block casting numbers and dates
Starboard Port
Block casting# 4179930-360-7 4006830-360?
casting date 3-20-79 10-29-76
Intake mani 2846704(l)3 2846704(/)3

Before anyone has the chance to call it like it is, yes we are crazy.. To date, we've had the starboard running with no issues, however we've gone 5 miles out onto Lake Michigan without ever hearing the port fire up.. I'm chasing all the quick, cheap fixes from the previous owner, without hauling out for a complete "start to finish" restoration..
With that said, you all should realize that we call her Journey because she is an adventure in every way.. Now, with all the time, love, hard work, and dedication she needs, we will not complain that we only paid $303 for her!!

After Journey was paid for and the title transferred, we visited our local marina to inquire about slips and winter hard storage.. After hearing the story, our harbormaster said we stole the boat, and more importantly the drives..