Logo

NEW GUY WITH MULTIPLE QUESTIONS ‘95 75hp Force

patmac6975

As the title states, I’m new to outboards, but I’m not new to engine maintenance. I have a Force by Mercury OE277276 75hp outboard which has been in the family for years, I bought new spark plugs (NGK BUHW) and I’m preparing to change the oil in the lower unit.
1. AM I IN THE CORRECT FORUM?

2. WHAT TYPE OF OIL SHOULD I PUT IN THE BOTTOM UNIT (weight? Brand? Synthetic?)

3. THERE IS NO BAFFLE OF AIR CLEANER ON THE CARBURETOR, IS THIS NORMAL.

4. IS THERE CRAKCASE OIL? HOW DO I CHANGE IT?

5. PROPELLER SUGGESTIONS? ITS ON A 17ft PONTOON ON A SMALL LAKE

6. ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS?

Thanks, all feedback is appreciated

1 Yes you are in the right forum.
2 lower unit requires 80W90 marine gear lube.
3 There may not be an airbox on that motor. Force is a budget motor.
4 Your motor is a 2strk it its is lubricated with the oil mixed in the fuel. You MUST mix the fuel 50-1 with a tcw3 2strk oil. No crankcase oil to change.
5 propeller will be determined by Rpm. You need to prop that motor to reach 5500 rpm lightly loaded.
#6 replace the water pump!

Last edited:
Ahhhhh...Thank you Scott, very much appreciated!

We’ve been mixing the gas/oil, so I’m good there, I just wasn’t sure about the crank.
Thanks for the tip about the water pump, is it difficult to change? Are there any write ups?
Where can I find a manual?
Lastly the engine says Force by Mercury......the forum states Chrysler Force....so am I to understand they’re the same?
thanks again
Pat

Chrysler was bought out by US Marine in the late 70s early 80s and changed the name to Force. Mercury bought US Marine in the early 90s. Around 1995 Mercury put their ignition systems,lower unit and tilt and trim on them. This is the correct forum for your engine. I would get a factory manual a Mercury dealer can help you get one.

Your motors a 97
Get a factory manual if possible.
The aftermarket like Clymer and Seloc don't have the specifics for detailed work.