Logo

1989 Johnson 70HP battery confusion from previous owner

FRYLE

I couldn’t find any direct answer reading some other posts but I just purchased an 1989 Bass Tracker and on it is a 89 Johnson 70HP motor. The starting battery looked a little rough and the guy I bought it from mentioned something about the cheap Atwood onboard charger not working for that battery, but I also thought the motor charges this battery anyways while running, but I’m a newbie to this. But I pulled it out to clean the terminals and noticed it’s the same exact battery as the one That controls the trolling motor. First time I’ve bought a boat like this so I don’t know much but the way I understood it there’s a cranking battery and a deep cycle battery to run electronics. The battery is an ever start 845MCA both say deep cycle power, the starting battery definitely looks a lot tougher than the other. I’d like to put a new cranking battery for the motor or at least sort out if it’s running the right batteries. It does start and run, only have had minor motor issues unrelated to the battery or electrical system.

I think EverStart is the brand sold at WalMart, correct? Those are the batteries that were in the 89 Tracker that I bought recently. Both of mine said Deep Cycle. They worked for the guy that I bought the boat from for over six years. Not bad for relatively cheap batteries from Wally World. Generally, cranking batteries can unload lots of amps for a short period of time........for starting engines. They aren't particularly good for slow drains like trolling motors would require. Conversely, deep cycle batteries aren't good for high amp dumps like engine starting, but are good for slow drains like a trolling motor.