Logo

Help me help my Dad please - 1994 J60ELERV - Converted over from VRO

Akwhite29

Hello,

My name is Alex,

I live in Mobile, AL and i am posting today hoping i can get some information in order to help my elderly father.

As stated in the title he has a 1994 J60ELERV Johnson 60hp engine.
He bought it recently from my uncle after my aunt passed. My
My uncle had already converted this engine from the original VRO setup to a straight fuel pump.
Keep in mind i am not a box expert but i am very good at researching and learning about different things quickly.
Moving along.
Current the boat has a 3 nipple fuel pump that does work on the engine and the engine runs. The boat will not run WOT though and my dad mentioned that my uncle said that he had to replace the regular fuel pump on several occasions and that if it was him my dad should try replacing the regular fuel pump to solve the WOT busting up issue. (Does that sound legit?)
So my dad came to me for help finding the correct pump, Well we have been through a couple so for with no luck. (The part number is worn off the one that is currently working/under-performing) So the first one i ordered was the wrong one, It only had 2 nipples and he informed me at that time his had 3 so that was my lack of knowledge. So i returned that one and ordered the [FONT=&quot]Sierra International 18-1277 3 nipple pump thinking we would be good to go. Well he called me and said the engine will not start with that pump and just to make sure he put the old one back on and it started right up.
And it did say it was for like a 35hp on the box, So i figured another mistake on my part.
So i did more research this time and came up with this pump [/FONT]