Logo

No water to motor

jwwjr

Hello, I am new to board so if I do something wrong please let me know. Have a 1998 115 hp fast strike motor. I start motor on muffs regularly. A few weeks ago we had temperatures in the teens for a couple of days. Started motor a week ago and no water would come out of pee hole and motor seemed to overheat. Replaced water pump and still no water. If you take out thermostat should water come out of hole if you crank motor?

Hello, I am new to board so if I do something wrong please let me know. Have a 1998 115 hp fast strike motor. I start motor on muffs regularly. A few weeks ago we had temperatures in the teens for a couple of days. Started motor a week ago and no water would come out of pee hole and motor seemed to overheat. Replaced water pump and still no water. If you take out thermostat should water come out of hole if you crank motor?
Yes you should see water coming out of there (just went through the exercise on my motor)....

If no water comes out, you have a blockage, and can start taking things apart, starting with the foot.
If you're lucky you might be able to cLear the obstruction by wiggling some wire in the water tube and spraying water from the stat housing and see it makes its way down the water tube..... most likely the grommet is clogged on top of the tube and if it's the same as on the smaller motors I know of, you have to remove the power head to replace it.

(And if you're even luckier, and water comes out of the stat housing, it's just an obstruction in the pee hole line, which can usually be cleared with a wire)

Good luck!

Last edited:

Ummm "temperatures in the teens"... could it be you have ice in the water tube and / or water pump?. If there was ice in the water pump when you started the motor, one or more of the impeller blades may have sheared off, in which case, the blade(s) may be clogging the water tube.