Logo

Is the rebuild worth it? 1974 9.9 Johnson

JohnnyBouy

Hey everyone! Attempting to do my first rebuild, and I've got it torn down so far.
It's a 1974 Johnson 9.9

Just looking for some input (still very new with motor repairs).

Issues encountered so far:
  • Bearing Housing on the lower unit is cracked/broken at both bolts (will need to be replaced - minimum $50?)
  • Several bolts on the powerhead sheared off during disassembly (haven't put any effort into getting them out, but could cause issues)
  • Top piston head has some damage? (In picture below)
  • Coils are super rusty (Is this an issue?)
  • Carb has a crack in it from somebody trying to unbolt it (looks like they attempted to seal it) (Is this no good?)

So, at a minimum I think I'm looking at:
  • New gasket kit/set ($50)
  • New/used bearing housing ($50+)
  • Misc cleaning supplies ($50)
  • Paint/primer/sealant/antisieze for bolts ($75-$100?)

Head.jpg
I've never done any work with teardown before, so I'm not sure the extent of this damage/if it will cause minor or major issues in the long run?

Mainly, I was just wondering if the rebuild is worth it, or should I sell the motor for parts?

Any input is appreciated!

Thanks

Hi Johnny.
Whether it's worth it or not is really only depending on several factors:
Are you doing this to learn as a "hands on" kinda experience, without really caring about money and time spent on it?
Then yes, it's worth it.
If you are wondering about whether or not it makes economical sense to spend hours / days, and probably a few hundred bucks in parts to rebuild a 74 (magneto ignition) motor, then IMHO the answer is NO.