Logo

HELP: No gas getting to carburetor

82ABNVET

This winter I did an engine swap in our 2002 Glastron 205 SF. I upgraded from the carbureted 5.0 to the carbureted 5.7 and have been unable to get gas to the carb. I figured the fuel pump went out because it was getting power but not drawing fuel from the tank. I bought a new pump and filter and installed them but still no fuel. I sucked a mouthful of gas :( through the fuel line from the tank to the fuel pump, so I know there's enough gas in the tank. I checked the 7.5A fuel pump fuse and its good. I rebuilt the carb when I did the swap, but even if the accelerator pump wasn't working I wouldn't think that would affect the fuel pump from pumping fuel to the carb. But I'm no expert so any help would be appreciated.

thanks

There is, per USCG regs, a fuel pump connection to an oil pressure switch. No oil pressure, no fuel. On some engines, during cranking, this is bypassed and the fuel pump runs during cranking. On some setups, fuel pump only runs after oil pressure builds up.

Hi Seabass

On some V/Ps the fuel pump is powered via a relay which is activated by a voltage signal from a running (producing voltage) alternator. Remove the fuel pump relay which is at the fuel pump and place a jumper between the 30 and 87 female terminals in the relay block. Essentially the jumper wire will take the shape of the letter T across the terminal block. This should run the pump. Unlike a fuel injected motor, there is no priming once the key is turned to ignition. The only way that pump will normally run is if the alternator is producing voltage.

Hope this helps

Jon Allen

Hi Seabass