Logo

Newbie here - water pump tube help

MattMo

Hi all - i just purchased a 1986 Merc 35 horse more or less sight unseen and started taking a look at it tonight. When i dropped the lower unit after draining what little oil had in it i noticed the water pump tube came with it and then i heard a piece drop inside the upper half. as you will see in the picture i believe it is the grommet that holds the water pump tube in place when installing the lower half back on.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix or have see this happen before? you can see in the pic where it appears the grommet should be and is no sitting by the exhaust tube.

any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! Matt

Attachments

• 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 89
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 88
Looks like the copper water tube fell down from above. You'll have to get it back up there, and have it held firmly in place.

Jeff

Thanks Jeff! is there a trick to get it up there and to 'stay'? it appears originally the grommet may have been bolted up there? any tips, tricks, ideas or easy way to access that area where it connects to the upper portion?

Thanks again!

You may need a new water tube housing the little one with two bolts item #79799. You may get lucky and just glue the tube up but it looks like it needs replaced. You will need to pull the powerhead and exhaust plate to properly install the tube with a new housing? The

You may need a new water tube housing the little one with two bolts item #79799. You may get lucky and just glue the tube up but it looks like it needs replaced. You will need to pull the powerhead and exhaust plate to properly install the tube with a new housing? The