Logo

73 thunderbolt 650 brown wire

Hi all. I have a 73 Mercury thunderbolt 650. The engine cranks but won't start. When cranking the engine remotely with key on and plugs out I have a very strong spark from each plug wire separately (cranks well with key too).I've gone through the carbs and all seems fine. I do have a kill switch that feeds ground or absence of ground to the brown wire attached to the switch box. In the spark test above, I had strong spark with the(brand new) kill switch in either mode which puzzles me.. I have also added mixed fuel to each cylinder and the best I get is an occasional pop, which has the sound of the timing being way off and a puff of smoke from the prop. However, the timing appears to right. I carefully soldered in a new ignition switch and I have continuity everywhere I'm supposed to have it. I'm a master certified car mechanic but not a 2 stroke genius at all. I'm frustrated and stumped. I've done every electrical test I could think of and read about and what I'm finding seems to be ok although I don't have a dva to do it correctly. Any help, suggestion, question or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

IF that is a battery ignition motor, one brown wire (there are two) goes to the tach. The other brown wire on the other side of the switch box goes to the distributor.

Jeff

boat swx box (800x450).jpg Thanks for the quick response. I wanted to upload a switch box pic to further explain. The blue wires on the right side of pic go to the coil and are ok. The brown wire to the left is the one I have question about. It is the tach wire and it goes to the kill switch only. I believe this is a battery ignition, I do know it's cdi.
I Thought I read somewhere about attempting to start the engine with the brown wire disconnected but I don't remember the details and I prefer not to fry the switchbox by doing a test wrong. Please ask any question(s) you may have, I can use all the help I can get. Thanks Jeff.