Logo

How to replace a mariner 225 prop shaft

jluchuk

I am new to working on outboards. I have 1 1998 Mariner 225 dfi outboard with a bent shaft that can't be straightened. I have read enough to already have the bearing casing out and all that is left is the prop shaft, the drive shaft pinion gear and the forward gear. I thought the drive shaft would come out now so I could move the clutch and parts to a new shaft. However when I try to pull out the prop shaft the shift mechanism rotates and the shaft will not come out. Is there something else holding it in on the shift shaft. Do I have to pull the drive shaft and forward gear to get the prop shaft to come out? I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me. When I look at the service manual I don't see anything holding the prop shaft in once the bearing casing is removed. I can't afford to take it to a mechanic and don't know where else to turn. Thanks in advance.
Jerry

The driveshaft and pinion need to be removed.......

Thanks. Its funny that none of the service manuals can say it that way. I never have done anything like this before but am going to give it a try. I will close the post with how it goes. If you think I need any other advice please add it.
Jerry

Thanks. Its funny that none of the service manuals can say it that way. I never have done anything like this before but am going to give it a try. I will close the post with how it goes. If you think I need any other advice please add it.
Jerry