Logo

Merc 200 lower unit

tasthree

Hello members. Newbie here. I just purchased a 1966 14' jon boat with a 1967 Mercury 200 20hp motor on it. The history/condition of the motor was unknown. With the plugs pulled and the shifter in gear. I could turn the prop and motor over. So it isn't locked up. Only thing I know is the boats registration ran out in 2000. The guy said the motor was stored inside a shed. The boat, motor and trailer looked in really good condition considering their age and espically for $200. I get it home and start doing some PM on the motor. I knew that I at least needed to change the lower unit oil and install a new impeller before attempting to start it. So I removed the upper and then the lower fill plugs and only about 1/4 cup of water came out. No gear oil at all. I don't know if the oil was drained out a long time ago or if it has a bad seal somewhere and it leaked out. I think it's a neet looking motor and would like to keep in matched up with the boat. So I would like to know from someone with more wisdom on this issue on how to precede with this motor.

Check the compression first to really see where to start or if it is worth the expense. Next, put in some new gear oil. Then check to see if it is getting gas to the carbs when turned over. If it starts, don't let it run very long and shut it off to change the seals and the impellor in the lower unit. Clean and adjust your carbs and try to budget out for electrical parts where the wiring insulation is rotten. The boat is worth 200 so if it needs to be sold for motor parts, you will not be hurt. Great little motors if it can be restored, do it. Price a new one.