Logo

1992 2st 4hp throttle issues

sogboat

Hi..I just bought a used 4hp 2 stroke 1992 yamaha. I'm having some issues, I think, with the throttle. It seems to me the tiller throttle isn't affecting the operation of the motor, but the choke does? I'm totally new to this engine, and can't seem to find an owner's manual on it without paying $30 dollars I don't have..so I'm kinda stuck trying to figure out how to even use this thing, so I could just be doing it completely wrong.

I was under the impression that I close the choke to start it, then open it after it starts..but it won't start closed, only open. Here's a video to show me starting it / how it's working.
https://youtu.be/rePY7iXUq0I

This video shows the cover off, and appears that the throttle cable is hooked up..just don't know why it's operating the way it is. Is this normal? Am I forgetting to use one of the other 10 levers on this thing that I can't actually identify? haha..plz help.

https://youtu.be/fbHyCgZreKc

it's worth noting that this is the first start of it, and I haven't used it on a boat yet..I had planned to try it tomorrow on a lake anyway, just to see how it goes. Could the low water in the bucket affect the throttle ability? I really can't find any info on operation of this motor for some reason..but I know I really want to take my 12 ft aluminum boat fishing tomorrow :)

Cheers

2yBvATz.jpg

Furthermore, can any one tell me..
Should #1 freely move, or does it have to be running to move it? Assuming this is forward / reverse? Cuz mine is seemingly stuck.

What is #2, #3 for?

2yBvATz.jpg

Furthermore, can any one tell me..
Should #1 freely move, or does it have to be running to move it? Assuming this is forward / reverse? Cuz mine is seemingly stuck.

What is #2, #3 for?

You're in luck. A free digital download of your engines service manual is here:
https://www.vansoutboardparts.com/s...amaha-shop-manuals/608-1992-yamaha-4n-5n/file