Logo

Throttle Cable disconnected, hasn't seemed to run as well since.

schreck425

Bought a 24' pontoon. Came with a 90TLR. Didn't get a huge amount of use before I got it.

First time I took it out it ran great. I wish I could have video of it but it felt much stronger. If my memory is right then it was hitting nearly 5500 RPMs on WOT. Ran 20 minutes across the bay and suddenly it came to a stop. About threw us off the front of the boat it gave out so quickly. We found that the throttle cable in the engine came loose, so we reconnected it and docked it. It seems to be connected properly.

The very next time I took it out, it felt weaker. If before the throttle went from a scale to 1-10 from idle to WOT, now I feel more like 0-8. The engine frequently dies at idle and has to be restarted. I have to give it some gas constantly. That and when I go WOT I only can get 4500 RPM now. I'm still new to this boat but I have video of us taking it the first time out and it sure looks like it goes faster. That and I remember how much we slowed down when the cable gave way, it was a huge change. Now at WOT I don't feel like it would stop hard like that because its going too slow.

Steps I've tried.

- Looked at the throttle cable, it doesn't look like it could connect any other way. The little switch can really go any further when I put it in WOT.
- Seafoam / Yamaha carb cleaner.
- Replaced Spark Plugs. All 3 seemed to be firing when we take them off one by one. All 3 old ones looked the same. Nothing significant that I know of.

Could the idle circuit on the carb be plugged? Maybe that's why it dies at idle? Wouldn't explain the lack of RPM unless that path also delivers fuel on WOT and now it can't?

I'm no mechanic btw. Don't claim to be either.

Oh also, before we put it in the water we also replaced the impeller.