Logo

Cannot Idle under 1500 - 1800 RPMs

Canufixit

Contributing Member
Hi, Can really, Really use some help on this one. I'm a overall decent mechanic but this has me stumped. Hopefully someone can assist me?? Any Suggestions are most appreciated.

Background; I have a dock space so the Pontoon boats is in the water all year. Was Running like a top for the last couple years and started and ran Great this Spring. Due to the weather IT was not used /Started for a week. It Was running great - now starts runs rough and very high Idle - 1500 to 1800 RPMS. Will Run in a test drive but very rough and will not reach 5000 RPM (Was 5500 WOT)

1996 Merc 60 HP 3 Cyl Looks to have moderate usage. Bought a couple years ago.

I've done/checked/eliminated the following (not in this exact order);

- No water in Fuel 1/4 Tank. No recent fuel before issue. Had Run over 1/2 Tank of same fuel with no issues Checked for water in fuel with Test paste on test stick. Added Dry gas and 10 Gal fresh fuel from a fairly new and different Gas Station. Changed Engine Fuel Filter. Primer bulb is firm. I Don't believe this is fuel related.

- Then checked Idle setting, Removed Throttle linkage, ALL Throttle plates CLOSED. Linkage and and adjustments will NOT let it Idle down. Moving of Trigger plate will NOT change/ Lower Idle RPM (see below). I see nothing wrong with the linkage, etc. I believe this is OK as well.

- Pulled plugs - Looked OK. Maybe not completely dry. Changed Plugs, Checked Compression All cylinders within 1 PSI and over 96 PSI (Gauge was ancient - but repeatable). All this looked OK was well. Can pull each plug wire one at a time and engine still runs albeit not much change in rough running.

- Thought it may be the Switch box - Changed with MERC New OEM - no change.