Logo

1978 crusader 270

jaybirdboat

First off I am not a trained mechanic but I try to save money and work on stuff myself. I did an upper head job two years ago and now the engine is running rough. Changed plugs , but not wires nor distributor. The marine mechanic thinks a valve maybe sticking but I do not trust most mechanics. They rebuilt carb thinking that was it. Why would they think a valve first without changing common sense items first?

advice would be much appreciated.

rebuilding or changing parts without a thorough diagnostic approach = get another mechanic......

I'd start by asking when the last complete tune up was done? unless modified, a 78 will have points and they are high maintenance items...
in addition, its almost 40 years old....so it may be wise to assess the state of the engine - and the suggested vacuum gauge testing would be an excellent start.

Last edited:
Another simple test would be to pull one ignition wire at a time to see if the idle is effected. If idle quality is unaffected by pulling one particular ignition wire the cylinder may be dead due to a stuck valve or an ignition problem. Next step would be a compression check on the suspect cylinder. Vacuum test would also be in order. No substitute for effective troubleshooting !!

................ I did an upper head job two years ago and now the engine is running rough. Changed plugs , but not wires nor distributor. The marine mechanic thinks a valve maybe sticking but I do not trust most mechanics. They rebuilt carb thinking that was it. Why would they think a valve first without changing common sense items first?
This is typically what occurs when proper diagnostics are not performed.
Even if a good educated "guess" turns out to be correct, it is not science, whereas proper "diagnostics" is more in step with science!

rebuilding or changing parts without a thorough diagnostic approach = get another mechanic......
Yes, I agree.