Logo

totally stumped 4 STK Yammy

Troutmaned

I have an "02" 60 HP Yammy 4 stk. It runs great, but it's hard to start. I've had the carbs rebuilt & it runs as smooth as can be. However about the only way to start it is to put it in neutral & give it a little throttle ( just enough to feel the cable "tighten up" it will start every time! If I run it for just a little while " enough to get the motor warm & shut it off, it will start almost instantly. Let it cool off for 10 or 15 minutes-- won't start unless I give a little throttle in neutral-walla instant start. I've put additive in the gas, complete new gas line & water separater. It's a 4stk T 60 very low hours. What can I do next??

Maybe adjust the cable/idle up a little. It may have stretched a tad and you need to take up the slack. However I'm not an expert but that's my 2 bobs worth. Clem.

Cables do not stretch.

If the carbs are your problem.....

This carb set up has auto primers for the start up so there is no choke to activate.

My experience is that sometimes these carbs are impossible to get clean if fouled. I have left theses carbs in an ultrasonic cleaner cooking for 48 hrs and they just were not right.

When they get like that I replace them. If the primers are bad, they are almost the cost of the complete carb.

Sorry, Not what you want to hear.