Logo

Volvo Penta 5.7 loses power under load

tortguy

I am new to boating and purchased a 2006 Four Winns that ran well for several months. It then overheated and a stuck thermostat was identified as the cause. It was replaced, as was the starter. Since then. the engine starts easily and revs well in neutral. However, when underway, the engine struggles above 2,000 or so RPM, such that I have to back off to keep from stalling. I am in Thailand. Replaced spark plugs, coil, fuel pump, to no avail. Checked the carburetor??? as well. Boat does not have a plug for computer analysis of engine performance.

Check your fuel/water separator and all fuel filters for contamination Are you runnning off the bottom half of fuel tank? You said you checked carb. what was exactly done to it? Removed,disassembled,cleaned throughly,soaked overnight,all passages blown through with water followed with dry compressed air,reassembled and reinstalled?

Is marine fuel there "blessed" with the addition of ethanol???
During the diagnosis/repair process, was the compression in every cylinder checked on engine?

Also DOUBLE check that the wires on the distributor go to the correct spark plug.
On SBC based engines, it is VERY easy to inadvertently swap plug wires at the block between adjacent cylinders... especially if you pull all the plugs out at once and then replace them.

When the plugs were replaced was the gap on the new plugs set to the specified range?

Last edited:
Are you runnning off the bottom half of fuel tank?

I've seen this before, and don't understand it. Isn't the boat always running off the bottom half due to location of the pick-up ... :confused:

I was thinking along the lines of contaminated fuel, fuel pickup is in the very bottom of tank.You said engine overheated,has a compression test been done? Read Post#3 again