Logo

ignition components and their purpose

Portis Left

Contributing Member
my motor has this issue. cranks and idles great. but from half way to full throttle(say 45 degrees forward) to full throttle(say 90 degrees forward)
it only gets louder and runs at what seems to be a full bog condition. the carbs (3) "ARE" fully open when lever is pushed forward so i think fire. spark at all plugs determined by timing light. no way to know if its a weak spark though.
can someone quick explain all the parts to this ign system? im new to boats. posting pics in case it helps. one is of the distributor to hopefully help someone identify what type ign this is. the rest are components i dont know. one specific question i have is the pic with 2 vertical running wires. these go up and under the flywheel. definitely what are those? and i have never seen a dist run on a belt. whats with that? IMG_0369.JPGIMG_0367.JPGIMG_0368-1.JPGIMG_0371.jpg

Both Mercury and OMC used a belt-drive distributor on many models. Millions of 4-cylinder and 6-cylinder Mercs have been produced over the years with a belt and either magnetor or electronic-ignition-distributor.

It would help if you posted the HP of your engine and serial number so we could determine what year your Inline Six is.

The pictures show a 6-cylinder CDI system which has one coil, belt-driven distributor, with a switchbox.

Critical are the belt alignment and timing stop settings; if the engine is out-of-time it won't run correctly.

I can't tell what color those 2 wires are, but if they go up under the flywheel, they're for the stator (alternator). They have nothing to do with the ignition system, only for charging the battery.

On this motor, both the red terminal on the Stbd side of the switchbox, and the white terminal (same side) must be energized with +12V to get spark.