Logo

50HP lack of power

FloridaFloater

I'm a noob to the forum, so I apologize for my ignorance in advance. But I have a 20' Pontoon with a 2004 50HP BF50A. I purchased it approx 2 years ago and noticed it was surging and then showing a lack of power, I figured it was bad gas from the seller.

What exactly is happening is: It doesn't matter how many people are on the boat (only myself or the family so weight isn't a major factor) it starts fine, runs and sounds great, but will top out full throttle at 16 MPH, I can pull the throttle back to 3/4 throttle and it will surge forward with power and increase speed dramatically but only for a few seconds, then falls right back down to approx 16 MPH. It will do this time after time over and over again. The engine never stalls or has any other issues, just lack of power, surges and back to lack of power

I first cleared the fuel cell out, changed the prop to a prop to max out the top speed for the engine, end result was still the same. I had a mobile mechanic come by the house (friend of a friend to save a ton of money), he figured it was the carbs needing cleaned. He took all three carbs, micro-scoped, cleaned and reinstalled said he synced them back to factory zero then turned back up, the engine still was not performing properly while on the muffs so he though it was the fuel pump not putting out enough fuel. We changed out the pump with a new one, he tried to get it going but for some reason the engine would not run consistently. After he left I continued to tinker with it and was able to get it running proper on the muffs (starting on the first turn within a few seconds of turning the key.). Took it out for a water test under load... Ran just the same as before and STILL THE SAME ISSUE!!