Logo

1958 Johnson 7.5 Seahorse

mengo45

I recently purchased a 1958 Johnson Seahorse 7.5 for $125 and am pretty excited about getting it into good working order. This is my first time working on an outboard. I have two questions to start with:

First how do I replace the spark plug wires? I took the flywheel off and am replacing both coils/points/condensers since I have the flywheel off. I purchased spark plug wire by the foot and two springs. I haven't received them yet so I might be able to figure it out once I get the parts, but I was just curious about how that works.

How do I replace the impeller? I was able to get to it by removing the clamp, and the engine from the top to take the shift rod loose. I was going to have to do that anyway because I had to replace the shift lever.

I really appreciate any help.

1958 Johnson Seahorse 7.5.... I have two questions to start with:

1 - First how do I replace the spark plug wires?

2 - Second How do I replace the impeller?

1 - Remove the armature plate (plate the points are attached to).

2 - Dismantle the water pump. On top of lower unit, front portion....thing the driveshaft goes through. :)

(Replacing Regular Spark Plug Wires)
(J. Reeves)

If you also need the spark plug boots and the spring terminals that connect to the spark plugs, purchase them from your local dealership (OMC Part #581027). This includes one boot and one spring connector. Price is about $3.25ea.

Purchase whatever amount of spark plug wire you need. Be sure to purchase the kind that has a steel (or copper) twisted wire leading through the center of it....... not the carbon type plug wire that many automobiles now use.

Using your old plug wire, cut the new wire to a length about 3/4" to 1" longer. If you have no old plug wire, just make sure that the wire is longer than you'll need as you can trim the other end later.