Logo

1990 Johnson 60 hp overheat alarm

Jfdjeep

I have owned this boat for 2 years without problems. I'm in Illinois so I believe it has spent it's life in fresh water. Motor is 1990 VRO 60 hp Johnson remote with power tilt/ trim. It's on a 24' pontoon. After about 2 minutes at full throttle the overheat alarm sounds. That's about 3,200 rpm on my boat. I pull back to idle & alarm stops in about 30 seconds. I have good water from telltale. I can run 2,500 to 2,800 rpm all day but get the alarm if I go near or over 3000.

I'm a competent auto mechanic but new to outboards. Want to know where to start. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
John

That usually indicates a failing impeller. At any rate, the first step is to drop the lower unit to inspect the pump assembly.

Thanks Joereeves. I'm going to try the pump kit first. We're going to the lakehouse tomorrow so I'll let you know what happens

Flyingscott The rpm seemed low to me too but I am relying on the one in the dash. Motor sounds like its running faster. I'll have to bring another tach out there to check it. I haven't had a chance to install the impeller/pump kit yet either. I'll post results when I do.
John

Racerone I'm not sure where telltale comes from. The pump kit I received tells me to make certain changes to the thermostat & telltale too. I'll let you know when I get back out there

60 HP sound under power for a 24' pontoon, what size prop do you have there, overloading an engine kills it, beside water pump issues that could be a reason for overheating.

I have not yet replaced the pump. Took the boat out this weekend & got the the alarm again. This time she went into slow mode. Even after sitting off for an hour, upon starting still would not run above idle. I've been reading other threads here about similar problems. My questions are;

Shouldn't the slow mode deactivated aftrr motor cools down?

Does this mean I have a bad power pack?