Logo

Newbie here. Force 125 to Force 125 straight swap?

Hallass

Hello all. I'm extremely green to boating and need to find a replacement for an 89 Force 125. I found another good running 89 force 125. Should it be a direct swap or are there chances of differences? It is 2 hours away and want to make sure before making a long haul for it.
Thanks for the help ;)

The 89 to 89 should be a direct swap.
The only thing that "might" be a problem is transom clamps.
The 89 should be the bolt through clamps.
The older is the screw type and it's a possibility they used them.

The length of the motor is another to think about.
They made the 89 in 2 sizes. 20 and 25inches.
Measure the transom and see if they match.

If you sell the old motor parts??
I need the transom clamp section.
Not the trim motor just the rest.

The 89 to 89 should be a direct swap.
The only thing that "might" be a problem is transom clamps.
The 89 should be the bolt through clamps.
The older is the screw type and it's a possibility they used them.

The length of the motor is another to think about.
They made the 89 in 2 sizes. 20 and 25inches.
Measure the transom and see if they match.

If you sell the old motor parts??
I need the transom clamp section.
Not the trim motor just the rest.

Ok, what im ending up with is a running motor head that needs a gasket, with a bad lower unit and 20 inch shaft that is original to the boat - and a then also a complete good running motor, but 25 inches. Is it possible to swap the midsection, lower units and shafts to make the good running motor the 20 inches or is that more work than its worth?

Your hull was made to run a 20"shaft motor,if jackplate can raise engine 5"s go for it. Its going to add some weight,something to think about. Remember cavitation plate on engine should be even with the keel on bottom of boat or darn close.

Last edited:
A jack plate would do the job.
The work to change the mid section isn't easy.