Logo

1974 55hp no start

RobbyB

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just bought this boat a few days ago and was running great. It would start first try no problem. They guy I bought it from didn't no anything about boats and didn't seem like he knew to much about motors either. I'm no marine Mechanic but I can turn a wrench. The previous owner put on new coils. He couldn't find the right ones so he put on 12v car coils. Don't think that's the problem since it ran when I bought it. I got it home and noticed the thermostat housing was leaking. There was no gasket so I made one. I did get it started but it took a while. Now there was no water flow. I say that bc the hose I have from the thermostat to the exhaust is clear. Now I've replaced the battery with a 750 mca maintenance free from Walmart, put new plugs on it the same ones that it had, cleaned the carb, and checked the electrical system per the factory book. I have the lower unit off bc of the water flow issue but haven't been able to get it to start in days besides once yesterday after trying for ten mins. Then when I shut it off it wouldn't start back up. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Also when I spray starter fluid into the carb it backfires. I tested the coil wires at the slarkplugs with the key on and they both read 12v.

If I give it throttle while trying to start it or choke it all it does is backfire. It just boggles my mind that it was running great a few days ago and now it won't even start.

The backfire could be the key in the flywheel slipped?
The carb adjusted wrong?

The car coils, it's amazing they work at all???
There are 2 types of coils, one with an internal resistor and one without it.
You might be sending too much voltage to the system.
The resistor coil breaks the 12v down to 9v and all inboard systems require 9v.
Might be something that's messing yours up??

Over on iboatsdotcom is another Force/Chrysler forum.