Logo

hi, i have a 1988 force 50 hp outboard that I've been working on and running for about five years and I'm stumped. I took the boat out on the water today and when I pulled it out of the water I notice a little bit of oil in the water pump intake screen. I've noticed this before and I thought it needed lower unit gaskets replaced which I replaced. I am 90% sure that The gasket job was perfect. My question is did I miss something other than the lower unit gasket set. Is there a set of gaskets and o rings in the upper part of the lower unit that needs to be replaced or should I look at this job again? I'll try to post more info in the morning as well as some photos. Thanks in advance.:cool:

Welcome, Any water in the oil?No, then it's not coming from there???

Drop the lower.
Try draining the lower of oil and spray the outside of the lower with dish soap
and a small shot of compressed air and see if bubbles show.

Turn compressor as far down as it can go.
Don't wanna blow out any good seals.

If there is no water in the oil the leakage may be normal.--------------It may well be the wasted oil / gas that goes through the motor without burning.--------It runs down the exhaust housing and is often mistaken for gear oil leakage.

If there is no water in the oil the leakage may be normal.--------------It may well be the wasted oil / gas that goes through the motor without burning.--------It runs down the exhaust housing and is often mistaken for gear oil leakage.