Logo

1981 Chrysler 75 HP Outboard Starter Issue

Blackhawk36

Hello. This is my first post and I am new to Chrysler outboards. Helping a friend with the subject motor. He bought it for $75 at an auction. I got the ignition and fuel working. Compression is good.

The starter on it looks new but I don't know the source. It could be a cheap ebay unit.

With the spark plugs out the engine cranks over easily. With the plugs in the engine turns over very, very slowly. The battery is good.12.4 volts. When I hit the starter, the voltage drops to 6.5 volts when it is cranking slowly. After about 10 seconds of attempting to crank, the bottom of the starter is very hot to the touch. I have cleaned all of the power connections and grounds.

I want to assume the starter is bad but I have one problem. I have tried to start it by wrapping a rope around the flywheel and pulling. No dice. It is impossible to pull start. I'm 6'1", 245 pounds and I nearly pulled my arm off. Has anyone ever tried to pull start one of these. The only difference between easy to turn over and impossible to turn over is the installation of the spark plugs creating the additional load of compression.

One possibility that I have yet to diagnose are the battery cables themselves. They are very old and very long. For some reason, they are run all the way up to under the steering wheel so they are about 16 feet long. I plans on getting some new ones that are about 6 feet long.

In the mean time, do you guys thing it is the starter and has anyone had any success pull starting a 75 hp with a rope.

thank you.

These 3 cyl. motors can be real hard to turn if the compression is low on 1 or more cyl.

The starters easy to clean.
Check the cables for twists or bad spots and make sure the end is clean.

Do a compression test.
The results should be within 5-10# of each other.
The actual readings can vary with the gauge or the person doing the test.