Logo

1955 QD-16 Johnson Help

Atlaszmh

Hey guys,

So I just got lucky on Craigslist with an old 1955 Johnson 10hp QD-16.

I have been able to get it started and it runs fine at low-medium thru high RPMs, but when I try to turn the throttle all the way down, it dies.

Along with this statement, I don't see any sort of kill-switch anywhere on the thing and it's impossible to find any manuals online that don't cost an arm and a leg.

So my question is - Is there a kill-switch normally, or do you turn it off by just turning the throttle all the way down?(This seems weird to me, but I am by no means an expert here)

Other than that, the motor seems to run fine for sitting for 8 months and I plan on taking it out on the water sometime this week!

Thanks a lot in advance!

-Zach

I believe the metal label on the twist grip has several printed positions including Fast, slow, shift, start and stop.

bobbyc just hit the nail on the head, my 1954 Johnson QD-15 has the same outline on the tiller. Love that motor, will run all day and just purrs!

bobbyc just hit the nail on the head, my 1954 Johnson QD-15 has the same outline on the tiller. Love that motor, will run all day and just purrs!

Haha that's typical.. my tiller arm is all worn down with no markings left.

Well thanks for clearing that up!

I took it out on the water for the first time today and unfortunately had a bit of a failure. :(

It runs alright, but only for 15-30 seconds. After that it starts surging and revving high just before dying. It sat for 8 months before I got it, so I am thinking a carb cleaning is probably a safe first step.

The problem I'm having now is - How do I find a carb kit that will work on this motor? I am afraid to buy anything too new because it won't fit, but I can't seem to find any place online with older carb rebuild kits!

Where have you guys had luck with this?

Thanks!

-Zach