Logo

1958 10hp evinrude No spark.

Rymasta

Hey everyone,

This is my first time working on any outboard and sorry if I forget any information. I recently started working on a 1958 evinrude and have done the single line conversion for the fuel line. I went to test to find I wasn't getting any spark using a spark plug tester. I've tested the coils and spark plug wire which have the appropriate readings on my multimeter, however when testing the breaker points I thought I was having some continuity issues so I ordered new ones and reset the gap to .020 But still no spark. Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks!

Did you replace the condensers with the points? Is there a good ground wire from the points plate to the block? If there is a crack in the coils just replace them also if not bad they will fail usually when you dont want them to.

Last edited:
I have experimented with a AAA battery and works pretty good. Set your meter to DC volts and then put the leads on the condenser with two jumper wires and then charge the capacitor with the battery and disconnect the battery you should see the power slowly bleed off of the capacitor/condenser.

The coils are likely stock 67 years old new ones are cheap. Test the compression you want to see 70psi or better on both cylinders. Get new coils and condensers. You must pull the plate to replace the coils. Just because they ohm out dont mean they are good. Fully inser the plug wire in the coil and put new boots on then instal the coil. Take a pic of the bottom of the plate and make sure the wire marked top goes to the correct coil.

Make sure the flywheel nut is torqued to spec it wouldnt hurt to install a new flywheel key as well.

Always replace the condensers when replacing the points!

(Point Setting Of Magneto Models)
(J. Reeves)