Logo

BFJ8 broken swivel case

aussiebushman

Newbie here! Fortunately not new to engines but this is my first Honda BAAJ 8 HP 4-stroke Serial number 1106221

Bought it from a hire business. A customer had backed the boat into the wharf and smashed the swivel case, started to strip it then sold the business.

Parts manual suggest I can buy the parts needed for around $200 ex US but the mechanics are talking nearly a grand for the labour, so any help to do the work myself would be much appreciated. Here are the main questions:

1 The springs/arms etc have been removed (section 12-12 in the Honda manual) Does the connection at the base of the housing just slide off? - (section 12-7) OR do the bolts holding the swivel to the tiller arm have to be removed? (virtually impossible to undo - they must have been installed frozen into the rubber housing

2 Despite putting the unit into reverse, backing off the lock nut and turning the sleeve nut, the shift rod will not separate. How to do this without causing damage?

3. Assuming the shift rod is undone, will the entire case now slide off, or is it necessary to remove the lower unit?

4. If the latter has to be removed, is this the time to fit a water pump kit and impeller?

Any help appreciated

Attachments

• swivel_case_from side.jpg
    swivel_case_from side.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 52
  • shift_rod_adjustment (600 x 461).jpg
    shift_rod_adjustment (600 x 461).jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 42
  • Broken_swivel_case2 (600 x 450).jpg
    Broken_swivel_case2 (600 x 450).jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 67
I seem to remember changing a power tilt swivel shaft to a non power tilt motor several years ago.

You will need to get the shift shaft apart somehow. I do not recall having that much trouble getting the locking nuts apart.