Logo

Advice please Volvo penta 270

Kerabo

Hello all. My first post.
I need advice please. I am a mechanic but the stern drive is new to me.
I am m
helping a mate keep his twin penta 270 drives running and one is leaking water from the lowest point of the engine bell housing. It's not coolant from the engine . I downloaded a manual but it's not clear where the water from the stern drive flows. What I can say it it's a steady leak and if we start the engine the leak becomes very bad. We are due to lift the boat from the water soon but need to find the leak first .Is there a seal between the engine and drive or is it just the large bellows I can see looking over the stern

Any advice will be welcome.

Regards Ken

Ken, from the engine's flywheel mounted "drive coupler", there will be a PDS (primary drive shaft).
This PDS is housed and supported by the "flywheel cover" (aka bell housing in the auto world).

It will be supported via one bearing and a pilot nose and bushing........ or two bearings w/o the pilot nose or bushing.
(Which engines? This will tell me whether he has a double or single bearing PDS.)

This PDS couples the engine to the female yoke of the "Universal Drive Shaft".... which takes power to the transmission (aka upper gear unit on the AQ series Volvo Penta).

There is a bellows (I.E., rubber accordian type boot) that joins the F/C to the front transmission collar.
This bellows seals this area from the river/lake/ocean water.
These require routine replacement. (they dry out, become fatiqued due to stress, age, etc... and will split or crack open.)

If a bellows was to fail, water would not only enter the area of the Universal Drive Shaft, but it would also finds it's way into the the PDS cavity, and eventually (in your buddy's case) would make it to the inside area of the Flywheel Cover.