Logo

I need help... Motor dies when in gear and throttle increased... omc 190

powerstruggle7

Thanks to anyone taking the time to read this:

I've been 'reviving' a 1975 omc 190 that sat for nearly a decade. i've now got it running well, and took it for my first ride last night.

it starts right up, runs and revs normal, but once in gear, it can only manage little more than an idle...

i idled it around for over half an hour,trying several times to increase throttle and everytime i'm met with it bogging down and dying.

i have yet to replace the fuel filter or plug wires ( i'll probably do that tonight) it is a new carb (was run on another engine before this to tune it) so i currently fear thats where my problem lies...

any help or ideas would be appreciated. i'm new to boating, but typically wrench on vehicles, just nothing this old usually

:(

Check all the fuel supply system. If there's any ethanol fuel in there it probably degraded the hoses or did something to foul up your life.

Well I replaced the fuel filter, think I properly free'd up the ignition advance, and took it for a spin. No changes...

I'm beginning to think either the carb needs adjusted or maybe the alternator is bad? I dunno.... I would say timing, but nothing has changed since it was last run.

We idled around for probably 20 minutes, I tried to throttle it up and It wanted to take off, started rising up on plane (in no wake zone) so I headed for deeper water. Once out there I tried to throttle up and each time it just died on me...

so, we idled back toward the dock and it died on me.... fired right back up, then died again 5 ft from the dock and wouldn't start...

I went up got the truck, and just out of curiousity, I tried to start It, and it fired right up.....

ugh.....

I'm so close with this thing and still so confused.

I guess i'll get the alternator tested, just to see but could still use some advice...

Try a new carb

I should've said earlier but it has a new:

Carburetor