Logo

1979 Cobia Monte Carlo Won't start

Hounds

Ok. I am BRAND NEW to working on boats and just got one for almost free. Its been sitting for 3 years tilted upright with drain hole open. And appeared to be winterized ( sort of ). All water drain plugs on the engine were open, plugs looked "mediocre " .
" Shell " appears to be fine or the fiberglass. Anyway, I want to get it running first then work/refinish some of the exterior/interior,etc. My 'plan' is to get it started and running first to see if any major oil leaks, etc. THEN tear everything apart and clean,etc. without total rebuild. Replace all rubber/hoses,etc.,

The Engine is a 4cyl what I believe is a 3.0 L 140 HP engine. All it says ( that I can find ) is OMC on the top and 909466 that's what it sure looks like to me but IDK for sure its hard to read.

ANYWAY, I drained the fuel, put a gallon of clean fuel, new plugs ( but not wires or distributor or cap/rotor ). Oil looks clean, almost too clean.

Turns over but does not fire. I don't think its getting fuel, the pump appears mechanical. Do I need to prime it somehow? When I put small amounts of gas in the carb it starts to fire but won't stay very long. As soon as I take my fingers off the key it stops. Wont stay running.

This boat does not appear to have any plain throttle? Meaning I can't rev it up without being in gear.

Should I go ahead and replace the plug wires and rotor then give it another try? The thing looks brand new inside.

Once again I'm totally new to this. Maybe someone could list the things I should try after this?
Like I said, what my plan was to do is : Replace plugs and wires, rotor, change oil, new fuel and rebuild the fuel pump with new fuel filter. Oh and re-build the carb. THEN go to all the rest of engine and prop,etc.
That's as far as I was gonna go to see if I can get it running.
THANK YOU.

Last edited:
just got one for almost free

Nothing free is ever free, or cheap.