Logo

2003 johnson 60 hp 4 stroke efi engine will not start

Ron1

Contributing Member
First off I am a veteran,after my wife of 30 years died, I was diagnosed with PTSD, and this boat has been like a lifeline for me.
I took my boat to the river and put it in, it starters perfectly as always, I started down the river nice and easy, and began to speed up, just as I got to top speed the engine died slowly. And I have not got it to start since. I done some research online at my nephews house, and found out that the boat has a onboard diagnostic tests. I checked and it had a code, 4-2 ckp crankshaft position sensor bad, I checked it, it worked. I know on cars the camshaft position sensor will prevent a car from starting. So I checked online, the cmp camshaft position sensor should have a resistance of 168-252 ohms, I checked the cmp the first time I checked it, it read 168 ohms, since this sensor works with pulses, I thought I would check it more than once, so I took one of the leads off of the harness plug, and put it back, I got a reading of 45 ohms, I repeated this 10 times, and only got readings within the range it should have been twice. Could this be the reason the engine will not start? If so where can I find this sensor.
Thanks
Ron1

Either a bad crankshaft position sensor or a bad camshaft position sensor will still allow the engine to start.
The EMM senses that the sensor is bad, and begins operating in a fixed timing mode that allows you to limp back to dock.

Testing the sensor is straightforward. First you can do the resistance test that you have already done.
Second, you can attach your ohmmeter to the sensor, and move/wave a screwdriver tip near the metal bullet of the sensor.
Your ohmmeter will fluctuate as the screwdriver passes by the bullet of the sensor.

The camshaft position sensor is under the plastic top cover of the engine. It is bolted to the block in very close proximity to