Logo

mid 70s 2stroke Mercury 40hp Blue line misfires

markmcintyre

Hi,
I recently bought a boat with this motor on it.
It misfires under load at lower rpms but seems to run great when opened right up.
Here is a list of the things I have tried to get it running good but hasn't solved the problem:

Carby cleaned out with carby cleaner and air compressor
New needle and seat
The float floats in fuel
Replaced visibly worn fuel lines
New spark plugs
Both plugs throwing blue sparks
Checked compression, both cylinders producing 135psi
New fuel
New fuel tank
New primer bulb
I'm not an expert at mechanics so just wondering If anyone knows if there's anything else that I should check.

Are you positive it's a misfire as opposed to a cough/sneeze?

Often if you have a bad seal or gasket (so either sucking air or blowing out some of your oil/fuel/air mix) it will run crappy at lower rpms, sneezing and sometimes stalling, but if you hit the throttle it "seems" to run better.

I toasted an intake gasket while away at a remote location. Firing it up and immediately giving it throttle would keep the motor running well enough to make it "usable" (didn't have the tools to even jury rig a fix and the closest location for parts was a 3 hour drive away) - it did burn more gas than normal and it still lacked top end power but if you were unfamiliar with the motor it would have "appeared" to be running OK at higher rpms, even though it wasn't.

Last edited:
Terms have different meanings to different people which causes some confusion on boards such as this.

"Cranking", in my books means "turning over but NOT firing" - so the starter is turning the flywheel fine, but the motor is not "starting", yet "cranking" is often used to describe "starting".

To ME a "misfire" is when there is no/intermittent SPARK to a cylinder - as in "failed to fire" or "failed to fire at the correct time".