Logo

Cleaning thoughts and ideas?

karterdad17

I am in the process of replacing\repairing the water pump kit on my '86 800 series Mercury outboard. This is my first time trying to DIY and was wondering if anyone had suggetions or ideas on how far to go in the cleaning of all around the shaft and empty spaces. When i removed the LU, the impeller and outer housing were in really bad shape.I have ordered the complete kit, thanks to MarineEngine.com and will be here shortly. Just trying to get a jump on the task and do it the right way the first time and hopefully not damage anything else.

thanks for that info. what about the bering below the water pump, do i need to flush that with an oil or something? and alot of the mess i see looks to be in the, what i guess, is the exhaust port.

+1
I see your into karting too, on my 3rd Briggs 5hp build,. Got 11hp out of last one and this new one should be a mule!!!

ok, well I think I just hit my first roadblock. After pulling everything apart, and probably watching wayyy too many videos, I am more lost than when I started. I found 2 shims between the needle bearing and the water pump base. But looking at the parts diagram, it appears that only 1 should be there. I ordered a new aftermarket base and I am unsure just how much pressure to use to really get it seated, or if i need to get it seated. I guess i should have just bit the bullitt and paid someone to do it.

When you've greased the spline just before you refit the LU make sure that there is NO grease on top of the shaft. It will cause hydraulicing and you will not be able to seat the shaft home.

i did see that on one of the many vids i watched, but I think i gave up a bit too soon. after watching the Sierra video here on ME.com, i popped that sucker back on in less than 45 mins.:D