Logo

please help ! 1971 merc thunderbolt mercontrol box ?

Well today me and my dad replaced the fuel line, couple raggedy wires , and took off the lower unit to put a new impeller on to get my boat running that my grandpa gave me
The motor is a 1971 mercury thunderbolt 500 50hp 2 stroke 4cyl
Every thing went awesome and now there is a constant flow threw the pee hole

Now to my question
I noticed last time when i took it out their was next to no trottle when engaging into gear , i had to press yhe lever all the way to the floor to get it to go and it wasnt fast speed at all (from the other times i took it out when i was younger ) so basically i had maybe an inch of lever to give it gas ?

So i took the orginal merc control unit off and opened it up , everything was intact and looked functional , put it back together after some cleaning and still the same thing

So im wondering if their is a tension cable or something ?

Im new to this so please excuse my lack of knoledge any help is greatly appreciated !

Could be worn/stretched cables. Have someone shift gear while you watch the cables at the engine side a see how much travel the shift lever has before the throttle cable starts to move.Adjust the cable like kimcrwbr1 says and if you run out of adjustment replace cables.

Last edited:
i think you have a grease fitting on the distributor to advance timing....if so it may be bound up...

Maybe the motor is only running on 2 cylinders ??----------Check for spark on all 4 leads.-------Test compression .-------------Clean carburetors !!!

Thank you all for the awesome advice here now ab to put new plugs / wires / fresh gas and oil
The mercontrol box didnt have shavings in it and i did see the plastic bushing inside (which i just ordered ) because the one in there now felt brittle

Keep an eye on the wee spring loaded dowel,marked E,it can jump out and is damm hard to find :D Take my word for it

Attachments

• sfift cam.jpg
    sfift cam.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 340