Logo

New member with some questions!

dixie460

Hey y'all I'm a new member here. I have some questions of course but eventually I'll learn a thing or two and hopefully start helping others as well. I don't know much about outboards (yet) but I learn fast.

So I'll get to the point of my thread here:

I have a 1974 Johnson 50 HP outboard, model # 50ESL74M.

First of all, I'd like to get a copy of the FACTORY repair manual. Is that what's listed for sale on the sticky thread, or is that a third-party manual?

Second, I have zero experience working on outboards. Are there any special tools that would be nice to have? I can't imagine anything really. Looking at the engine, it really doesn't look that complicated aside from the mysterious power pack. What does the power pack actually do?

Third, I learned that the key switch/throttle/gearshift assembly is called a control box. Are these specific to each engine model or...? I would assume so, but you know what happens when people assume. I am not sure that mine has an audible alarm in it for overheating. Can anyone confirm this? If so, is there a way to test it?

Fourth, if I decide to sell this engine, what is a good asking price if it was to be in good running condition? I don't actually want to sell it, I'm just curious in case I decide to re-power the boat at a later time.