Logo

Lehman 80 Oil Leak - out of ordinary?

bobfar

Happy New Year - as a newbie I ask the following question with no small amount of frustration.
Twin 1976 80 Lehmans in my boat. Port we gave a complete rebuild the starboard an "overhaul" cleanup head valves etc as block and cyl's were perfect.
Both heads were planed and refit with new pistons in port and both honing and overall everything each engine needed.
Twice now we have removed and replaced the head gasket - re set with and without gasket goop - torqued and re-torqued and still there is an oil leak at the rear of the engine. I have used tracer dye and isolated it to the left rear corner of both engines at the head gasket.

The bolts have been checked and the bolt holes cleared. The decks were cleaned only.

Engine removed from the boat twice - re and re both main and tank seals "just to be sure" as oil was showing on the flywheel as well.

As there is no oil pressure to speak of in this area of the engine and setting aside the possibility of a machining error on the same corner of each engine head I wonder if any old timers (like me) here have experienced this oil leak on these Lehmans before?

Bobfar, in all my years at lehman i have never seen an oil leak at the head gasket. However i have traced most oil leaks to the rocker cover gasket (cork) which should be sealed with 3m weaterstrip glue on the cover side and rtv on the head side. Try putting a piece of blue masking tape on the back of the head and run underwayfor an hour. If oil shows -- your r/c gasket leaks. Ps the head gaskets are to be fitted dry. Charlie w.